How NCAA DI Coaching Changes Can Affect Student-Athletes’ Scholarships

For Division I athletes, a change in head coach may result in a change to an athlete’s scholarship situation – even in a situation where your athlete has a four-year “guaranteed” scholarship that can’t be reduced for athletic or medical reasons.

When a Division I university makes a head coaching change, the new coach may tell current student-athletes that they can continue attending school until they graduate, but they will no longer be a member of the team for their remaining year(s).

This rule was originally intended to benefit athletes who were near completion of their degree and wanted to stay at their university to graduate rather than having to transfer to continue playing if a new coach cut them from their current team.

However, some newly hired head coaches sometimes use this rule against even freshman athletes who have redshirted during their first year. In that case, many athletes will choose to transfer rather than give up their goal of playing at the Division I level in order to complete their degree.

If your athlete has been put in this situation and would like to discuss the options that they can consider to be fully informed and not make a rash decision, schedule a confidential Scholarship Strategies Consult online, contact us via e-mail at rick@informedathlete.com or call our office at 913-766-1235.