So, your NCAA DI coach was fired or resigned – how does this affect your athletic scholarship?  There is a new Division I rule for an athletic scholarship after the departure of a head coach.

In that situation, it often happens that a new coach will cut players from the team or will tell them that “you can continue on the team, but don’t expect to get much playing time” in an effort to coerce them to transfer.

For a student-athlete who may want to stay at the same school on scholarship to finish their degree and graduate from that university, there is a new rule that allows them to stay on scholarship the following year(s) and that scholarship will not count against team limits.

HOWEVER, the downside to this new rule is that for the scholarship to NOT count against team limits, the athlete must give up participation in their sport.

If you are an NCAA Division I student-athlete whose coach has been fired or resigned, and you have not been informed about this new rule, contact us for a consultation to discuss scholarship strategies.