Last week, an NCAA Division I football athlete called our office and wanted to confirm what “somebody” had told that if his coach was fired at the end of the season, then he could transfer and be immediately eligible at another Division I program next year.

I’m glad he called as this athlete was given bad information.

A coaching change (whether the coach is fired, or leaves of their own choosing to retire or take a new job) doesn’t change anything about the steps to follow in a transfer or about whether an athlete can be immediately eligible at their next college upon transfer.

A coaching change at an NCAA Division I school CAN possibly change some things about an athlete’s scholarship, but nothing about the transfer rules.

If you’d like to have a detailed discussion about your personal situation and the steps involved in transferring to another college including whether you can be immediately eligible, schedule a confidential phone consult online, or by calling 913-766-1235 or sending an email to rick@informedathlete.com