NCAA DI Teams Ineligible for Postseason Due to Low APR

The term “APR” for NCAA purposes refers to the calculation of the Academic Progress Rate for each Division I team.

The NCAA’s Academic Progress Rate was designed to improve the academic standards of Division I student-athletes and their teams by focusing attention on those programs that have an excessive number of student-athletes losing their academic eligibility, leaving a program with seasons of eligibility remaining, or both.

  • Each DI scholarship athlete has 2 potential points that they can earn for their team at the end of each semester that will impact each team’s APR rate.
  • They can earn one “eligibility point” for being academically eligible each semester, and they can also earn one “retention point” if they are returning to their university for the following semester.

To try to keep things somewhat simple, if the APR for an NCAA sports team falls below 930 (team earned less than 93% of their possible APR points for their team) over a rolling four-year period, that team will be banned from postseason eligibility.

It was recently announced that 15 NCAA Division I teams will be ineligible for postseason play during the 2020-21 academic year due to low APR scores. Those teams are:

· Alabama A&M: men’s basketball, men’s track and field, women’s soccer

· Alabama State: men’s basketball

· Coppin State: women’s track and field

· Delaware State: men’s basketball

· Grambling State: men’s track and field

· Howard: football

· McNeese State: football

· Prairie View A&M: football

· Southern: men’s cross country, men’s track and field

· Stephen F. Austin: baseball, football, men’s basketball

If you have an athlete or know an athlete who had plans to participate for one of these teams next year and will be negatively impacted by this action, schedule a confidential scholarship strategies consultation to explore the athlete’s options, call us at 913-766-1235 or send an email to