Tag Archive for: NCAA Coaching changes

For Division I athletes, a change in head coach may result in a change to an athlete’s scholarship situation – even in a situation where your athlete has a four-year “guaranteed” scholarship that can’t be reduced for athletic or medical reasons.

When a Division I university makes a head coaching change, the new coach may tell current student-athletes that they can continue attending school until they graduate, but they will no longer be a member of the team for their remaining year(s).

This rule was originally intended to benefit athletes who were near completion of their degree and wanted to stay at their university to graduate rather than having to transfer to continue playing if a new coach cut them from their current team.

However, some newly hired head coaches sometimes use this rule against even freshman athletes who have redshirted during their first year. In that case, many athletes will choose to transfer rather than give up their goal of playing at the Division I level in order to complete their degree.

If your athlete has been put in this situation and would like to discuss the options that they can consider to be fully informed and not make a rash decision, schedule a confidential Scholarship Strategies Consult online, contact us via e-mail at rick@informedathlete.com or call our office at 913-766-1235.

We get many calls this time of year when coaching changes are announced as Fall season sports wind down. In this article, I address some of the common questions we are asked.

Does an NCAA coaching change give me a “free” transfer?

A coaching change (whether the coach is fired or leaves of their own choosing) does not change anything about the steps to follow in a transfer or about whether an athlete can be immediately eligible at their new college upon transfer.

Does an NCAA coaching change affect my scholarship?

When a head coaching change occurs at the NCAA DI level, it is possible for the new coach to deny a returning athlete a spot on the roster. The University would be required to continue the athlete’s scholarship as long as the athlete makes satisfactory progress toward their degree. However, if the athlete wishes to continue competing in their sport, they will have to transfer in order to do so.

Does an NCAA coaching change void my NLI commitment?

When an athlete signs an NLI, they are signing with the university not with a particular coach. While some schools will grant an NLI release after a coaching change, that’s not always the case.

Do You Have Questions?

If you have questions about an NCAA coaching change and how your athlete might be affected, schedule a confidential scholarship strategies consult online or call us at 913-766-1235.

An NCAA Division I scholarship rule, which was implemented last year, applies specifically when there has been a coaching change during the current academic year or leading into the new academic year.

In this situation, a student-athlete can continue on scholarship at their Division I university to complete their degree even if the new coach doesn’t invite them back next season and if they choose not to transfer.

With calls we’re getting, this rule is apparently being used in ways that were not intended, and you need to be aware of this if you find yourself in this situation.

Some Division I coaches, when newly hired, are taking advantage of this rule to remake their rosters. They will tell athletes “Hey, you can continue to go to school here on scholarship until you receive your degree, but you no longer have a spot on the team and will never play here.”

We can provide a confidential consultation to discuss your options if this happens to you or someone you know. Send an e-mail to rick@informedathlete.com or call us at 913-766-1235.